Melanie Troxel caps big year with Sportswoman of the Year Award

Top Fuel driver Melanie Troxel, who has advanced to a class-high eight final rounds this season, has been honored by Billie Jean King’s Women’s Sports Foundation as its Sportswoman of the Year.

Past Sportswoman of the Year award winners include a who’s who of the greatest female athletes of all-time, from Annika Sorenstam and Juli Inkster to Sarah Hughes and Michelle Kwan to Martina Navratilova and Chris Evert. Troxel is the first auto racer to win the award.

“For more than a quarter century, women have not only been competing but winning at the highest levels of NHRA POWERade Drag Racing,” NHRA President Tom Compton said. “This honor serves to validate that performance, and it further strengthens NHRA’s leadership position as it relates to women in motorsports.”

Eight women have won NHRA POWERade Series events, six have won events in Top Fuel, and two have won NHRA POWERade world championships (three each by Shirley Muldowney in Top Fuel and Angelle Sampey in Pro Stock Motorcycle).

Troxel will join the nine other Sportswoman of the Year finalists — Annika Sorenstam (golf), Amelie Mauresmo (tennis), Cindy Klassen (speedskating), Janica Kostelic (skiing), Jessica Long (swimming), Chellsie Memmel (gymnastics), Sanya Richards (track and field), Laurie Stephens (skiing), and Hannah Teter (snowboarding) — at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City Monday, Oct. 16, for the WSF Awards Dinner, where Troxel will be introduced as the Sportswoman of the Year.

“It’s really an honor for me to be named the Sportswoman of the Year against a field of such high achievers in a variety of sports,” said Troxel, who earlier this year was recognized for her breakout season with ESPY nominations for Best Driver and Best Female Athlete. “To be the first race-car driver to win this award, to be recognized among these outstanding female athletes, is personally rewarding to me. It also indicates the continuing growth of awareness of the unique sport of drag racing with all sports fans.”

The Women’s Sports Foundation, founded in 1974 by legendary tennis champion Billie Jean King, is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and young women through sports and physical activity.

“The Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year award recognizes athletes who have had noteworthy or career-defining performances within the last year. Melanie Troxel’s 2005-06 season has certainly earned her this distinction,” Women’s Sports Foundation CEO Donna Lopiano said. “She is making a tremendous impact on the sport of drag racing and in so doing blazing a trail for countless young female athletes. If the past year is any indication, Melanie will continue to set records that both male and female athletes will dream of catching.”

Earlier this year, Troxel beat out NASCAR’s Jimmie Johnson and IRL’s Helio Castroneves to win the prestigious Driver of the Year first-quarter award, which is voted on by a distinguished panel of auto racing journalists. It is the first time in the 40-year history of the Driver of the Year award that a woman has won the quarterly or year-end vote. In July, she received the USAC Kara Hendrick Spirit Award.

Melanie Troxel 2006 Highlights

  • NHRA POWERade Series Top Fuel points through first half of 2006 season; currently in fourth place, 150 points behind Doug Kalitta.
  • Named the first quarter Driver of the Year by a distinguished panel of auto racing journalists, beating out NASCAR’s Jimmie Johnson and IRL’s Helio Castroneves.
  • She is the first woman to be selected as a quarterly winner for the prestigious Driver of the Year in the 40-year history of the award
  • Set NHRA record for most final rounds to open a season (five)
  • Has advanced to a Top-Fuel best eight final rounds in 20 starts
  • Has earned two victories: CARQUEST Winternationals at Pomona, Calif. and Nationals, Las Vegas
  • Became the first female in nine years (Cristen Powell, 1997) to win a Top Fuel event
  • She has earned two No. 1 qualifying positions: O’Reilly Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol, Tenn. and the O’Reilly Summer Nationals at Topeka, Kan.
  • She is one of eight women in NHRA history to earn a national event victory in a professional category
  • She is one of six women in NHRA history to earn a victory in Top Fuel
  • She is the quickest and fastest woman in NHRA history with a career-best time of 4.458 seconds, and a career-best speed of 331.04 mph
  • She is seeking to become the first female in Top Fuel to win a POWERade Series world championship in a quarter century (Shirley Muldowney, 1982)
  • Past Sportswoman of the Year Award winners

    2005 – Erin Popovich
    2004 – Annika Sorenstam
    2003 – Natalie Coughlin
    2002 – Sarah Hughes
    2001 – Stacy Dragila
    2000 – Jenny Thompson
    1999 – Juli Inkster
    1998 – Michelle Kwan
    1997 – Gail Devers
    1996 – Amy Van Dyken
    1995 – Bonnie Blair
    1994 – Bonnie Blair
    1993 – Julie Krone
    1992 – Pat Bradley (Pro), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (Am.)
    1991 – Meg Mallon, Jean Driscoll
    1990 – Paula Newby-Fraser, Lori Norwood
    1989 – Steffi Graf, Janet Evans
    1988 – Susan Butcher, Jackie Joyner-Kersee
    1987 – Susan Butcher, Jackie Joyner-Kersee
    1986 – Lynette Woodard, Debi Thomas
    1985 – Libby Riddles, Michele Mitchell
    1984 – Martina Navratilova, Mary Lou Retton and Joan Benoit
    1983 – Martina Navratilova, Mary Decker
    1982 – Martina Navratilova, Mary Decker
    1981 – Chris Evert, Tracy Caulkins
    1980 – Tracy Austin, Mary Decker

  • NOTE: Up to 1993, Awards were given to Amateur and Professionals; beginning in 1994, the Foundation awarded one award to the top individual and one to the top team.
  • Information provided by .

    You may unsubscribe at any time.
    Route 66 Raceway
    500 Speedway Blvd
    Joliet, IL 60433
    Mobile App
    This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
    Dirt Oval 2

    © 2018 Route 66 Raceway