June 10, 2007, Route 66 Raceway, Joliet, Ill.

Larry Dixon won his first event since Indianapolis 2005, piloting his SkyTel dragster to a 4.579-second finish at 322.11 mph while runner-up Rod Fuller's Fabick Cat dragster coasted to a 9.155 at 80.76.

With the victory, Dixon tied Kenny Bernstein on the all-time Top Fuel winner's list with 39 career wins. Joe Amato holds the No. 1 spot with 52.

Local favorite Tony Schumacher qualified No. 1 with a 4.462 at 327.66 in his U.S. Army dragster – but race day ended early for the defending world champion when he lost in the second round to Larry Dixon. It was his fourth No. 1 effort of the season and the 39th of his career.

It was a tough week for qualifying for some of Top Fuel's heavy hitters, with Brandon Bernstein, Whit Bazemore, Morgan Lucas and Dave Grubnic all missing the cut for Sunday’s eliminations. Luigi Novelli, Brady Kalivoda and Scott Weis also failed to qualify for the event. Bernstein came into the event with the POWERade Series points lead, but left in second to Fuller.

Bob Vandergriff's UPS crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Gary Scelzi earned his second win of 2007 (also won the season-opener in Pomona, Calif.) in an all Don Schumacher Racing-owned final round. Scelzi drove his Mopar/Oakley Dodge Charger to a 4.838 at 321.42 to defeat teammate Ron Capps, who turned in a 4.850 at 318.39 in his Brut Test Drive Dodge Charger.

This event marked the first time since the 2005 CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Winternationals that a John Force Racing-owned Ford Mustang did not advance to the second round. Robert Hight failed to qualify for the first time in his career, and both John and Ashley Force lost in the first round, to Tony Pedregon and Tommy Johnson Jr., respectively.

Hight was just one of the big names who failed to make the show – Mike Ashley sat out Sunday as well. Other DNQ's included Jerry Toliver, Dale Creasy Jr., Tony Bartone, John Lawson, and Bob Bode.

Scelzi was No. 1 qualifier with a 4.736 at 330.96.

Capps' Brut Test Drive Dodge Charger crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Jeg Coughlin earned his first event win since Pomona 2 2005 when he drove his Jegs.com Chevy Cobalt to a 6.658 at 207.37 to beat Jason Line’s 6.656 at 208.07 in his Summit Racing Pontiac GTO.

Line's teammate Greg Anderson earned his sixth No.1 qualifier of the year and the 57th of his career in his Summit Racing Pontiac GTO, with a 6.617 at 208.94.

Kurt Johnson earned the $50,000 winner's share of the King Demon Crown award for the POWERade Series' top Pro Stock drivers when he drove his ACDelco Chevy Cobalt to a 6.692 at 207.15 to beat runner-up Greg Stanfield's 6.729 at 206.26.

Twenty-seven drivers vied to make the talent-laden Sunday show. DNQ’s included: Justin Humphreys; Steve Schmidt; Jim Yates; Matt Scranton; Bill Windham; Dave Northrop; Kevin Lawrence; Ron Krisher; Erica Enders; Ben Watson; and Tony Rizzo.

Coughlin earned the Motel 6 "Who Got the Light" award, defeating Mike Edwards by a .0034-second margin of victory in the first round of Pro Stock eliminations.

Coughlin's JEGS.com Chevy Cobalt crew earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew championship award.


Three-time and defending Pro Stock Motorcycle world champion Andrew Hines finally stopped his '07 skid with his first win of the season, recording a 6.959 at 192.11 on his Screamin' Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson V-Rod. Hines defeated Matt Smith, who rode his Torco Buell to a 7.014 at 187.18.

Hines qualified No.1 with a 6.921 at 193.65 .

DNQ's included: Hector Arana; Matt Guidera; Bill Vose; Barry Henson; Joe DeSantis; Wes Wells; Scott Lewis; Mike Kovacevich; Connie Cohen; and Redell Harris.

Hines' Screamin' Eagle Harley-Davidson team earned the Full Throttle Pit Crew Championship award.


Luke Stoval, 12, of Joliet, Ill., beat out hundreds of local fans to win the POWERade Fan Nationals event title. At every event, local fans compete against each other to win a trip to the Auto Club NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif. in November. With the win, Stoval was able to stand in the POWERade Series winner's circle with the professional winners for the Torco Racing Fuels Route 66 NHRA Nationals.

NOTE: Information provided NHRA

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Dirt Oval 2

© 2018 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites