Perry, Payne Outrun the Field at Route 66 Raceway

Racing has concluded at the Indicom Electric NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event today at Route 66 Raceway. Top Alcohol Dragster driver Ken Perry and Top Alcohol Funny Car pilot Jay Payne scored wins and took home their share of cash and contingency awards worth more than $200,000.

Perry residing in Gormley, Ont., outran Marty Thacker of Robinson, Ill., in the final run to make it to the winner’s circle. Perry got off the line first running a pass of 5.414 seconds at 262.13 mph while, Thacker just could not keep up finishing with a time 5.548 seconds at 260.06 mph.

Payne of Claremont, Calif., was able to get passed Chuck Cheeseman of Galena, Ohio in the final with a time of 5.676 seconds at 257.73 mph. Cheeseman finished with a pass of 5.736 seconds at 251.25 mph.

In the Comp Eliminator category Jason Coan of Greentown, Ind., took the win driving a '32 Bantam. Coan defeated Brian Browell of Lafayette, Ind., with a time of 8.695 seconds at 122.97 mph. Also clinching a victory was Jeff Niceswanger of Zanesville, Ohio, who drove a '86 Camaro and outpaced Joe Covert of Saukville, Wis.

Austin Fernstrum of Menominee, Mich., finished with a time of 11.984 seconds at 108.45 mph beating Greg Hill of Louisville, Ky., in Super Stock. Another Ohio racer, Austin Fernstrum of Menominee, won in Super Comp. Fernstrum got passed Louisville, Ky., racer Greg Hill with a pass of 11.984 seconds at 108.45 mph.

Super Comp driver Troy Galbraith of Indianapolis, made a pass of 8.866 seconds at 163.35 mph to finish at the top over Jeff Spierling of Streator, Ill. Super gas racer Ken Bowers of Antwerp, Ohio, landed a spot in the winner’s circle driving a ’57 Corvette beating out Murray Hebert of Baxter, Minn. In Super Street, Jim Cappiello of Willis, Texas, ran a time of 10.912 seconds at 132.62 mph for the win over Randi Lynn Shipp of Whiteland, Ind.

Mike Coughlin of Delaware, Ohio, ran 7.025 seconds at 193.96 mph to finish in the top spot over Billy Vaughn of Knoxville, Tenn., in the Dart Top Sportsman Division. In the Spitzer Top Dragster category, brother of Mike Coughlin, Jon Coughlin also from Delaware, Ohio took home a trophy getting the win over Brian Folk of Durand, Ill. Coughlin ran a time of 7.476 seconds at 146.04 mph while Folk ran 7.863 seconds at 127.47 mph. In the Pro Stock Motorcycle category, Ron Bray of Anoka, Minn., with a pass of 8.653 seconds at 150.88 mph defeated Edwin Wirbel of Midland, Mich.

The next stop for racers in the North Central Division is Mid-Michigan Motorplex in Stanton Michigan.

The following are Saturday’s qualifying results from the Indicom Electric NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series from Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Ill.:


Round 1
5) Marty Thacker, Robinson, Ill., 5.498, 262.90 def. 4) Kate Harker, Gainesville, Ga., 5.429, 258.07
3) Noah Condo, Monticello, Ind., 5.653, 221.16 def. 6) Todd Datweiler, Herscher, Ill., 5.705, 236.59
2) Ken Perry, Gormley, Ont., 5.392, 259.41 def. 7) Dave Hedges Jr., Plainwell, Mich., 5.717, 247.07
1) Bill Reichert, Owosso, Mich., 5.386, 268.71 def. 8) Dave Hirata, Lowell, Ind., 5.648, 255.87

Perry, 6.574, 115.25 def. Condo, broke; Thacker, 5.474, 263.00 def. Reichert, 5.381, 274.94

Perry, 5.414, 262.13 def. Thacker, 5.548, 260.06


Round 1
8) Mick Snyder, Demotte, Ind., '02 Firebird, 5.739, 255.34 def. 1) Daniel Wilkerson, Springfield, Ill., '06 Monte Carlo, 5.749, 254.52
3) Marty Nothstein, Orefield, Pa., '07 Charger, 5.762, 253.71 def. 6) Jeff Wilson, Winfield, Mo., '06 Monte Carlo, 6.057, 205.07
2) Jay Payne, Payne, 5.676, 257.73 def. 7) Scott McVey, Winnipeg, Manit., '00 Avenger, 7.629, 160.94
4) Chuck Cheeseman, Galena, Ohio, '02 Firebird, 5.734, 253.09 def. 5) Andy Bohl, Racine, Wis., '00 Firebird, 5.763, 248.25

Cheeseman, 5.775, 244.34 def. Snyder, 5.781, 255.97; Payne, 5.694, 257.73 def. Nothstein, 5.830, 252.90

Payne, 5.676, 257.73 def. Cheeseman, 5.736, 251.25

Jay Payne, Claremont, Calif., '07 Mustang, 5.676, 257.73 def. Chuck Cheeseman, Galena, Ohio, '02 Firebird, 5.736, 251.25

Ken Perry, Gormley, Ont., 5.414, 262.13 def. Marty Thacker, Robinson, Ill., 5.548, 260.06.

Jason Coan, Greentown, Ind., '32 Bantam, G/EA, 8.695, 122.97 def. Brian Browell, Lafayette, Ind., dragster, D/D, foul

Jeff Niceswanger, Zanesville, Ohio, '86 Camaro, GT/FA, 10.216, 113.88 def. Joe Covert, Saukville, Wis., '05 Grand Am, SS/AS, 15.470, 78.74

Austin Fernstrum, Menominee, Mich., '91 Camaro, F/FIA, 11.984, 108.45 def. Greg Hill, Louisville, Ky., '71 Camaro, E/SA, 10.977, 119.54

Troy Galbraith, Indianapolis, dragster, 8.866, 163.35 def. Jeff Spierling, Streator, Ill., dragster, 8.858, 153.88

Ken Bowers, Antwerp, Ohio, '57 Corvette, 9.877, 159.01 def. Murray Hebert, Baxter, Minn., '71 Vega, foul

Jim Cappiello, Willis, Texas, '68 Camaro, 10.912, 132.62 def. Randi Lynn Shipp, Whiteland, Ind., '69 Camaro, 10.899, 137.08

Mike Coughlin, Delaware, Ohio, '06 Cobalt, 7.025, 193.96 def. Billy Vaughn, Knoxville, Tenn., '01 S-10, 7.097, 192.85

John Coughlin, Delaware, Ohio, dragster, 7.476, 146.04 def. Brian Folk, Durand, Ill., dragster, 7.863, 127.47

Ron Bray, Anoka, Minn., '03 Ski Doo, 8.653, 150.88 def. Edwin Wirbel, Midland, Mich., '03 Ski Doo, foul

Information provided by NHRA

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd
Joliet, IL 60433
Mobile App
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Dirt Oval 2

© 2018 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites