Bill Reichert and Tim Mosbeck have taken a liking to Route 66 Raceway as the pair repeated their wins from the Torco Race Fuels Route 66 NHRA Nationals the previous weekend to lead the list of winners for the IndyCom Electric NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event this past weekend.

Reichert, the reigning two-time Top Alcohol Dragster champion, set low elapsed time of the event in outdistancing Marty Thacker of Robinson, Ill. in the final. Scott Murray of Winnipeg, Manitoba lead the fourteen dragsters attempting to qualify for the 8-car field with a 5.350 to claim the Spitzer Race Cars Low Qualifier bonus. Thacker was only a tick behind at 5.358 for number two and Dave Weber had a career best 5.496 to claim the number 8 position.

Mosbeck extended his Route 66 win streak to 14 straight round wins in taking the Stock eliminator title with his family’s 1972 Dodge Demon F/SA-class entry. In the Stock final, Mosbeck out dueled Jeremy Duncan, who was also runner-up in the Super Stock final run.

Bobby Martin at the wheel of Frank Parker’s Lane Automotive Charger out ran Steve Harker from Gainesville, Ga. 5.630 seconds at 256.94 mph to Harker’s 5.751, 250.97 mph effort. It was Martin’s first NHRA Lucas Oil series win since August 2004 in Cincinnati, Ohio. Mick Snyder led qualifiers with a 5.855 at 258.67 mph, but fell in the opening round when he rolled through the starting line beams while staging in his match up with Harker, the number eight qualifier at 5.703.

In Comp Eliminator, Jason Coan, Greentown, Ind., repeated his NHRA Lucas Oil series win at Route 66 with a final round victory over David Billingsley’s A/EA Cutlass. Coan reset the G/EA-class national record during qualifying on Saturday with a 8.24 at 156.97 mph. to cap a great Father’s Day weekend with his dad Dave.

Rick Corn, Benton, Ill. defeated Tommy Turner from Naples, Fl. for the NHRA DART Top Sportsman Racing Series title and last years Spitzer Race Cars Top Dragster Series runner-up Jeff Brown added some valuable points to his quest for a 2008 title taking his first win of the season over Rick Forish.

The event was also race two for the National Snowmobile Drag Racing Association. Ed Wirbel, Midland, Mich., who qualified third in the field upset number one qualifier Joe Riccardi, Milford, Mich. in the final. Riccardi drifted precariously close to the center line having to back off of the throttle as Wirbel took the win with an 8.548 at 146.77 on his Ski Doo.

Other winners included Monte Howard in Super Stock over Duncan; Scotty Rienschield out ran Kara Roedel in Super Comp; Dave Klomps scored his first NHRA Lucas divisional win in the Super Gas final over Steven Hoyt and Joey Fuesting picked up his first Wally trophy in Super Street over Craig Abbot from Strawn, Texas.

NHRA North Central division racers head to Stanton, Mich., for the next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event. Mid-Michigan Motorplex will host the series July 12-13.

*Note: Courtesy of NHRA

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd
Joliet, IL 60433
Mobile App
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Dirt Oval 2

© 2019 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites