Whiteley Wins Second in a Row at Route 66; Richardson Doubles

Courtesy of NHRA

JOLIET, Ill. (June 14, 2009) - In the final results from Route 66 Raceway and the Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series it was Jim Whiteley and Chris Foster taking home their shares of the more than $150,000 in purse and contingency awards along with valuable national and divisional championship points.

This was Whiteley's second win in as many weeks in Top Alcohol Dragster here at Route 66 Raceway, as he earned the NHRA national event win last weekend. The Grand Junction, Colo., resident saved his best pass of the weekend for the final round against Bill Reichert of Owosso, Mich. Whitely was out first and never looked back, to post a time of 5.298 seconds at 271.41 mph to Reichert's 5.304, 272.67.

Foster of Davenport, Iowa, made his way into the winner's circle from the No. 3 qualifying position in Top Alcohol Funny Car with a final-round lap of 5.685 seconds, 253.42 mph to take out Mick Snyder. Snyder, of Demotte, Ind., qualified No. 1 but suffered mechanical problems in the final and slowed to a 6.860 second, 144.91 mph pass.

Bruno Massel, of Woodbridge, Ill., drove to the win in Comp Eliminator over Justin Lamb, of Henderson, Nev., continuing his winning ways as he won the highly coveted JEGS Allstar race within a race last weekend in Joliet.

In Stock Eliminator it was Edmond Richardson who grabbed his first of two trophies this weekend by taking out Robert Holmes of Dayton, Ohio. Richardson, of Greenbrier, Tenn., then went on to face Dave Connolly, who is on a break from the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series, in a monster match-up in Super Comp. Richardson took the win and denied Connolly the chance to share the winner's circle with his father, who wheeled his Super Gas entry to a win over Jim Brown.

John Coughlin took a nail-biter in the division's Spitzer Race Cars Top Dragster class winning by just ten inches in running 6.857 seconds, 194.27 mph in his JEGS Mail Order-sponsored dragster. Ricky Adkins clinched the win over Chris Nyerges in the Dart Top Sportsman class in 6.976 seconds, 180.91 mph.

Finishing out this weekend's winners was Bill Zaskowski, of Belding, Mich., who ousted reigning Super Stock National Champion Ricky Decker, of Charlestown, Ind.; Joey Shipp, of Whiteland, Ind., over Bill Worby, of Dwight, Ill., in Super Street; and Edwin Wirbel, of Hope, Mich., over Rich Stumpf, of Almont, Mich., in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

North Central Division racers head to the Mid-Michigan Motorplex, Stanton, Mich., for the next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, July 11-12.

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd
Joliet, IL 60433
Mobile App
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Dirt Oval 2

© 2018 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites