Champions Celebrate Their Moment in the Spotlight


Drag racers live for "that moment."  That moment when the driver suits up for the big round.  That moment when the driver pulls the belts tight and takes a deep breath.  That moment when the engine fires and the world outside the cockpit vanishes.  That moment when the win light illuminates and tireless hours of preparation culminate in a moment of near perfection.

Months later, in the unlikely confines of a chandelier lit banquet hall, those same drag racers celebrate another "moment."  Dial-ins, fire suits and race cars give way to camaraderie.  Each driver takes the stage and earns their moment in the spotlight.  The champions take a moment to reflect on their story book season.  Their friends, family and fellow competitors share in the moment and celebrate each other's success.  

The 15th Annual Route 66 Raceway Awards Banquet was the racers moment.  Please enjoy the below slideshow with captions.

>> Click Here for the Awards Banquet Photo Album on Facebook

1)  Trophies waiting to be awarded
2)  The best drag racers around!
3)  Tony Lyons - NHRA North Central Division Champion - Sportsman
4)  Junior Sportsman Top 5
5)  Brandon Loeschen - Junior Sportsman Champion
6)  Todd Trench Jr. - Junior Modified Champion
7)  Junior Modified Top 5
8)  Matthew Maciejewski - High School Champion
9)  High School Top 5
10) Mike Olenick - Top Sportsman Champion
11) Mike Olenick - Top Sportsman Champion
12) Top Sportsman Top 5
13) Robbie Vander Woude - Rookie of the Year
14) Robbie Vander Woude - Rookie of the Year
16) Marvin Cresson Jr. - Sportsman Champion
17) Sportsman Top 10
18) Marvin Cresson Jr. - Sportsman Champion
19) Jay & Pam Allen - Couple of the Year
20) Couple of the Year
21) Bob Foster Jr. - Pro Bike Champion
22) Pro Bike Top 5
23) Michael Roppo - Pro ET Champion
24) Pro ET Top 10
25) Michael Roppo - Pro ET Champion
26)Foster Family - Family of the Year
27) Dave Ancel - Super Pro Champion
28) Super Pro Top 10
29) Al Wagner Sr. - NHRA King of the Track
30) Michael Roppo - Driver of the Year
31) Michael Roppo - Driver of the Year
32) Jack Day - Rockett Brand Racing Fuel
33) The newest class to be added to the Perpetual Gary Skiles Memorial Plaque.

Related Topics

Route 66 Raceway

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd
Joliet, IL 60433
Mobile App
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK
Dirt Oval 2

© 2018 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites