2006 Holley Carburetor E.T. Bracket Series presented by Winner’s and Top Sportsman Class presented by Quarter-Max Season Recap

The 2006 Holley Carburetor E.T. Bracket Series presented by Winner’s Circle season ended August 6, 2006, with Route 66 Raceway sending 38 drivers off to the NHRA North Central Division Summit Racing Series Final at O’Reilly Raceway Park on September 15-17, 2006.

In the Super Pro class, Alan Ayres drove his '93 Chevy Lumina to two wins and finished first in the season point standings, with Alan Wagner Jr., just four points behind in second.

Lee Ponshe pulled off a much needed victory on Sunday, which brought him from 24th to eighth in points. This win ensured him a spot in the elite class of those drivers bound for Indy.

In seven races at Route 66 Raceway’s record-setting drag strip this season, a driver never recorded multiple victories in the McDaniel Speed and Performance Pro E.T. class, making it a very tight points battle up until the last race. However, Frank Valencia managed to come out on top, winning the Pro E.T. championship by only 47 points over Ricky Pena. In Route 66 Raceway’s King of the Track event held on July 23, Pro E.T. driver Rick Del Sarto beat out racers from three other classes to claim the coveted Wally.

The Pro Bike class featured Tom Florey and Donnie Banaski scoring two wins each, with Suzuki driver Banaski taking the championship, and Kawaski driver Tom Ewig finishing a close second.

In the Sasser Custom Exhaust Sportsman class, Joliet driver Dan McCarin led the field in wins with two. The Sportsman class point standings were the closest out of all the classes with only a 37-point difference between champion Fred Marek and sixth place finisher Bill Larson. Mike Heden claimed his first victory of the season on Sunday, August 6, which propelled him from 10th to third in points. The jump in points was good enough to send him off to Indianapolis in September.

Seventeen-year-old Nick Roppo dominated the High School class, recording three wins, the most among any driver in the Holley Carburetor E.T Bracket Series. Ryan Alley (who finished runner-up three times this season) ended up in second place, 63 points behind Roppo.

In the Top Sportsman class presented by Quarter-Max, Coal City native Brian Brown dominated the field with two wins out of the four Top Sportsmans races at Route 66 Raceway. Brown beat out second place finisher Jim Tacchia by 97 points for the championship. On May 20, 2006, Top Sportsman drivers made their way into the Route 66 Raceway record books after setting a new record as the quickest 16-car field in the history of the track. The 16th qualifying spot took a 7.50 with a six, which bested a previous track record of 7.52 set back on May 7, 2006.

Route 66 Raceway would also like to congratulate all the drivers chosen to represent Route 66 Raceway at the NHRA Summit Racing Series Finals held at O’Reilly Raceway Park in Indianapolis, Ind. September 15-17, 2006.

Super Pro

Alan Ayres
Alan Wagner Jr.
Dave Ancel
Scott Blzaekovich
Fred Papineau
Justin Ford
Jay Allen
Lee Ponshe
Kenny King
Jeffrey Torbeck
Steve Hamilton
Larry Bokal

McDaniel Speed and Performance Pro E.T. Class

Frank Valencia
Ricky Pena
Ken Kamba Jr.
Ron Headrick
Andy Brodzinski
Dan McCarrin
John Coyle
Herman Zehnder
Michael Roppo
Troy Bogner

Pro Bike

Donnie Banaski
Tom Ewig
Tom Florey
Paul Waters
Bob Boruta
Greg Darm

Sasser Custom Exhaust Sportsman Class

Fred Marek
Dan McCarrin
Michael Heden
Christine Kent
Andy Brodzinski Jr.
Jeff Sandowski

High School

Nicholas Roppo
Steve Flounders

Jr. Dragsters

Modified Jr.

Matt Sackman


Jessica Kobelt
Mason Marino

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd
Joliet, IL 60433
Mobile App
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised (including our cookie policy) and our Terms of Use. OK

Route 66 Raceway
500 Speedway Blvd, Joliet, Illinois 60433 Tickets & Information Call 888.629.RACE (7223)

© 2020 Route 66 Raceway


ISC Track Sites